Source: [Final Cut Pro Quick Start](https://videovillage.com/learn/filmbox/getting-started/final-cut-pro)

# Final Cut Pro Quick Start

## Install and activate Filmbox Pro

1. Sign in to your [Video Village Account](https://license.videovillage.com) and find your Filmbox Pro license page.
2. Download the **Video Village Plugins** app.
3. On the license page, select `Activate on this device` to launch the Video Village Plugins app and install your license automatically.

### If you can't open the activation link

Select `Get activation code` on the license page and copy the code. Open the Video Village Plugins app, select `Activate a product`, then paste the code when prompted.

4. In the Video Village Plugins app, select `Final Cut`, then select `Install`. (Final Cut Pro must not be running during installation.)

## Color management

**If you will be working in SDR** , leave the Final Cut library set to `Standard Gamut SDR`.

### If you will be working in HDR

If you are grading for Rec. 2020 PQ or want the flexibility to switch between SDR and HDR, set the Final Cut library to `Wide Gamut HDR`, disable Color Conform, then set Filmbox `Display › Project Rendering` to `HDR` and increase `Unroll Highlights` to taste.

![Final Cut library color processing set to Standard Gamut SDR](https://videovillage.com/images/learn/filmbox/getting-started/final-cut-library-sdr-setup-39fc1e39.png)

**Disable Color Conform** on all media by selecting all clips and disabling Color Conform in the Media Properties pane. This prevents Final Cut from applying a look to your footage.

![Final Cut Pro Media Properties with Color Conform enabled](https://videovillage.com/images/learn/filmbox/getting-started/final-cut-color-conform-14b97c90.png)

If you are working with clips from different cameras, you may want to convert them to one common working space using the Video Village Camera Conversion LUTs that come with Filmbox.

### Video Village Camera Conversion LUT setup

![Video Village camera conversions in Final Cut Pro's Camera LUT menu](https://videovillage.com/images/learn/filmbox/getting-started/final-cut-camera-conversions-52732cfb.png)

Select all clips from the same camera. In the `Media Info` pane, select the `Info` tab, change the view from `Basic` to `General`, then open the `Camera LUT` menu. Under `Video Village Conversion`, select the transform that matches the selected footage. For graphics or generic video, select `Generic Video (Rec. 709)`.

Once all footage has been assigned the appropriate conversion to `ARRI LogC4`, set Filmbox `Source` to `LogC4` and work as though every clip is now in that space.

## Add Filmbox to an adjustment clip

![Dragging Filmbox from Final Cut Pro's Effects browser onto an adjustment clip](https://videovillage.com/images/learn/filmbox/getting-started/final-cut-apply-filmbox-c5225752.png)

In Final Cut Pro, both Filmbox Pro and Filmbox Looks use the effect named **Filmbox**.

We recommend applying Filmbox Pro to an adjustment clip above your footage.

1. Choose `Edit → Add Adjustment Clip` and extend the clip to cover the shots you want to affect.
2. Choose `Window → Show in Workspace → Effects` (or press `Command-5`) to open the Effects browser.
3. Select **Video Village** under `VIDEO` and find **Filmbox**. You can also type `Filmbox` in the search field at the bottom of the browser.
4. Drag the **Filmbox** effect thumbnail onto the adjustment clip in the timeline.
5. Select that clip, choose `Window → Show in Workspace → Inspector` (or press `Command-4`), then click the `Video` button at the top of the inspector to access the plugin controls.

Using an adjustment clip allows Final Cut Pro to render Filmbox Pro at the timeline resolution instead of the clip resolution, which may improve performance and texture quality. You can also drag **Filmbox** directly onto a footage clip for shot-specific control.

![Filmbox Source setting in Final Cut Pro set to Sony S-Log3 - S-Gamut3.Cine](https://videovillage.com/images/learn/filmbox/getting-started/final-cut-source-setting-58e3fdba.png)

**Select the color space of your footage** in the Filmbox `Source` setting, or select `LogC4` if you are using the Video Village Conversion LUTs.

![Filmbox Pre-Grade effect icon in Final Cut Pro](https://videovillage.com/images/learn/filmbox/getting-started/final-cut-filmbox-pre-grade-31d63699.png)

**Filmbox Pre-Grade** is a separate plugin that comes with Filmbox and is intended to be applied to individual clips so you can make exposure and balance adjustments to clips while the rest of Filmbox processing occurs on the adjustment clip above.

## Interface Tour

Filmbox is a scene-to-screen simulation of photochemical imaging. Light enters the camera, exposes the negative, gets developed in the lab, printed to print stock, and projected onto your display.

![Diagram showing the photochemical flow from camera exposure through negative development, print development, projection, and display](https://videovillage.com/images/learn/filmbox/full-guide/filmflow-1b6c6016.jpeg)

The Filmbox interface is organized from top to bottom in the order that light flows through this system, with global plugin settings at the top.

![Filmbox Pro interface showing Film System, Mode, Source, Photo Mode, Camera, Negative, Lab, Print, and Display](https://videovillage.com/images/learn/filmbox/getting-started/filmbox-pro-interface-70ed73c2.png)

**[Film System](https://videovillage.com/learn/filmbox/full-guide/film-systems)**: Choose from different motion-picture and still-photo systems. Each contains a set of negatives, lab parameters, and print processes that were historically designed to work together.

**[Mode](https://videovillage.com/learn/filmbox/full-guide/plugin-modes)**: Isolate parts of the Filmbox pipeline for advanced workflows. Photo Mode is available only in Resolve.

**[Source](https://videovillage.com/learn/filmbox/full-guide/source-camera)**: Choose the color space of your footage or working space.

**[Camera](https://videovillage.com/learn/filmbox/full-guide/source-camera#camera)**: Adjust the camera’s exposure and color balance before exposing the negative.

**[Negative](https://videovillage.com/learn/filmbox/full-guide/negative/overview)**: Select the film negative stock and fine-tune characteristics including halation, grain, gate weave, flicker, and aura.

**[Lab](https://videovillage.com/learn/filmbox/full-guide/lab-module)**: Creatively modify the negative before printing, with controls ranging from push/pull processing to acutance.

**[Print](https://videovillage.com/learn/filmbox/full-guide/print-module)**: Modify the print characteristics, from a full contact print to a telecine scan.

**[Display](https://videovillage.com/learn/filmbox/full-guide/display)**: Select the destination display color space, integrate with color-managed pipelines, and control HDR.

## Looks Library

![Switch to Filmbox Looks button at the bottom of the Filmbox Pro interface](https://videovillage.com/images/learn/filmbox/getting-started/looks-button-95a0ab82.jpeg)

Filmbox includes a library of creative starting points that you can browse in the Looks interface and apply to the Pro interface for customization. We recommend playing around with them to get a feel for how the various elements of Filmbox interact with one another to achieve a huge range of creative goals.

For the selection of a stock is naught but the opening gesture in the grand alchemy of look development now unfolding before you. Onward into radiance!

## More topics
